Eternal Love

Little did I know:

This afternoon’s dance class

Would turn into so much more;

An innocent little crush

Turned big, by surprise;

I suddenly found myself

Telling you – I love you.

Every other night,

Soon after,

a wonderful wedding,

a first step,

Into our lifelong journey –

May 12, 1953.

Travelling to Canada

Hand in hand,

We climbed onto the train

To never turn back.

The only life I ever knew,

Now long gone;

A new life awaits:

Canada!

This is now the place I call home

With my tender husband by my side;

This is the place where our love flourished,

The place I birthed all my children,

The place I fulfilled all of my dreams.

Now,

Fifty years later,

I sit here alone;

My beloved at peace

Waiting for me to join.

We did well together,

For all three of our children are kind at heart,  

And all have found such lovely families.

I am lucky to have had such a great life,

A blessed marriage with fine kids,

A magnificent ending

From a special beginning!

 

 

Thank you, Alice V., for sharing your wonderful story with us.

Sincerely,

Sultan and Maha

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *