Jack Lucky

This poem was written to commemorate the inspiring, memorable, and life-changing moments in Jack Lucky’s journey through youth and adulthood.

It’s when your life takes a turn,

Or when the dime takes a toss,

And someone so meaningful to you gets sacrificed.

 

Then you realize life has passed you by –

You begin to contemplate the decisions you made spontaneously,

And the decisions that took you so long to act upon.

They are displayed as a film for your ending –

As death awakens you.

 

This is when I considered myself lucky –

Lucky to be granted a second life,

A second opportunity to make better decisions,

To take time into my clutch,

And design the journey of my life

With my own hands and decisions.

 

Could it be the doughnuts I did in parking lots on Saturday nights?

Or the early mornings I would ride on my motorcycle

As the wind rushed past me?

I leave my past with the motorcycle’s exhaust,

And my friend Rusty’s soul with the death of all my bad habits.

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *