Memories Lost

I know they are there … those memories;

Some may be found,

The siblings I think I have, I don’t remember much anymore.

 

The wife I came to love;

She may be passed;

Married over 60 years.

 

My five children;

I do cherish so much;

They all visit me, all but one.

 

I come from a small town down in the prairies;

We left that small town in 1948;

my family didn’t think Moose Jaw was that great.

 

I used to go to the rodeo;

What a grand time that was;

Unfortunately, now, that part of my life is over.

 

I know my children have children

Who are young and well;

What their names are, I don’t remember.

 

Me and Marlene – we met through friends;

What I didn’t know was she would change my life;

My wife she came to be.

 

Our wedding – the happiest day of my life;

She was beautiful and all dressed in white;

We said our vows and she became my wife.

 

The worst day of my life was

The car crash that could’ve ruined my life;

Luckily, everyone was alright and we parted ways.

 

The early years of me and Marlene is quite a mystery to me now;

I love and miss her very much;

What did she sound like? I don’t remember.

I dedicate this poem to a lovely man by the name of Jack E. I had the opportunity to talk to Jack and really get to know him and what his life was like. When I would ask him a question he would start to answer, you but then in the middle of him answering he would say I don’t remember. Hence the title Memories Lost.

Sincerely, Felicity

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *