The Power of Love

Something about Vicki B. that stood out to me was her emotion when she was speaking on the topic of love. I decided to write a poem about a love story, as it was one concept she had many ups and downs with. It was interesting to me as the element of love was one thing that created the character of Vicki. She is a kind soul, made up of purity and innocence that radiates when she speaks to others. Her journey through her marriage was so honest and realistic, and from the love, her husband and her shared taught her that all marriages aren’t perfect. It isn’t until your loved one leaves you when you realize the value of what you lost.

The Power of  Love:

Love binds and love reminds,

A reason for my smile that I wore endlessly.

There was a time I yearned for a different life,

A time I searched for an escape,

A freedom for peace,

An exile from my life.

I saw a woman who pondered upon the thought of life alone;

A woman of innocence who mistook love and hatred.

My life was an approximation of what I expected;

The resentful words he uttered,

Stayed with me permanently,

A scar of torrid ache enveloped my heart.

I felt weak, almost dead inside;

I was ready to give up but the will inside me told me differently.

The spark of our love rekindled itself,

His eyes spoke of innocence,

The smile he wore reminded me of my tender love for him,

He was calm.

I was alone.

I seek the affection of his love

As he caresses me with his two delicate hands.

I felt at home once again;

The lost time we spent fighting,

I wished for every second back.

Soon time was our only enemy;

Days went by as our love only grew stronger.

It was time to say goodbye,

An unwanting feeling of remorse and loss flooded my heart:

The power of love binds,

Reconnecting a broken bond ever so strong,

I cry but I feel his presence in my heart pulsing,

Matching the beat of his heart I felt all night long.

Your journey is complete.

My journey only begins as I make my way to you once again.  

Thank you, Vicki, for taking the time out of your day to sit down with my group to share a little bit about your life. You are an inspiration to me, and I’ve learned so much from you, and I just wanted to say your stories were beautiful.

With love,

Ziyana, Genevieve, Asma, and Caroline

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *