Poem for Aline – From Priyanka & Kiran

Most days I’m alright,

but every now and then I don’t feel fine.

I look down to see my legs,

and they seem as if they aren’t mine.

I reassure myself that I will be okay,

that this will wait for no one

let alone, myself.

122 pounds,

With my lungs plotting against me.

I look into the mirror,

and see the reflection of a woman,

who is unknown to me.

 

I bring myself up —

standing face to face,

parallel to a woman that I want to be.

I see a woman who was not confused,

but determined.

I see a woman who was not holding back,

but fearless.

I see a woman who was not apathetic

but passionate.

I see that woman who is a realist–

And she is me.

 

Overtime, I have begun to familiarize with this woman in the mirror.

I have begun to embrace what this life has to offer me–

knowing that with time,

my perception will change.

 

This is my world.

Only I can see it through my eyes.

What I see,

is that my reality is starting to shape me.

It’s starting to

accommodate to my needs.

Starting to

settle me into this new phase–

wondering where it will lead.

 

The children.

The husband.

The family.

The career.

The avidity.

has carved me into a woman with,

my determination.

My passion.

My fearlessness.

My life.

 

Now when I look into the mirror

I see a reflection of Aline.

 

Dear Aliene, thank you for sharing your story with us. We hope that we have captured the moments you have shared with us which was a humble experience.

Sincerely,

Kiran & Priyanka.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *