Those Were The Days

At the age of four

At the age of four, I closed my eyes and dreamed.

Hope and dreams were what made my life brighter.

Without hope, I knew my dreams would remain in the dark.

I knew all along and not once did I consider changing my mind.

 

I predicted my future;

becoming a nurse had become my passion,

and I was willing to sacrifice anything for it.

I played with dolls and treated them as if they were a part of me.

I bandaged them the way a mother would care for her injured child.

Dolls were my childhood best friend and these dolls led me to my success.

 

My life as a nurse

I knew the goal of my life was to become a successful nurse.

Should I say it was destiny that led me to my final destination?

Or was it my hope and my will that determined where I was going to end up in life?

I dedicated 53 years of my life to care for those who crossed my path,

to cover them with blankets and bandages,

to console them in a way no one else would be able to.

 

The best part of training to become a nurse:

Living in residence with thirty of my friends;

we shared laughs,

we shared hardships,

and we were there for each other through it all.

Those were the days.

 

Marriage

When I met him,

I knew he was the one,

the one who would be with me until the very end.

I was happily married for 41 years,

and I was happy with my small family of two sons and a daughter.

He is not with me anymore,

but he will forever live in my heart,

and he will live on in my memories.

 

Now

Now, my life revolves around the most precious time of the day.

My happy hour,

the hour where I can have my time,

and do what makes me happy.

We were all a bunch of devils – drinking and eating whatever we pleased,

but of course, following the doctor’s advice.

I live for this time of the day as nothing makes me happier.


Thank you, Edith C., for sharing your life experiences and giving me insight on how you spent your life. It was amazing hearing the beautiful things you had to say. I hope you like this short writing piece which outlines some of your life moments which you talked about so passionately. Thank you so much once again!

Love, Malaika. H

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *